Skip to content

Going Regional

07/01/2012

I don’t just get my feet wet at the edges, I like to jump straight into the deep end. Fully clothed and all. And then find out if I can swim or not. Looking like an orca doesn’t automatically mean I can swim like one 😛 So I’m now busy into my second post in a matter of minutes.

I took over the kitchen today. The Captain decided he wants to eat Vietnamese Prawn and Mushroom Noodle Soup today. It’s his pick from the latest recipe book we got from Popular Bookstore.

book

It’s chockful of easy recipes, and at a price of only $15.90, it got us noodle-heads drooling there and then!

VIETNAMESE PRAWN AND MUSHROOM NOODLE SOUP

850ml vegetable stock

8 button mushrooms

2 tbsp fish sauce

1 tsp sugar

175 g bean thread vermicelli noodles

225g fresh prawns, shelled and deveined

 2 small cucumber, peeled and cut into matchsticks

Pour stock, mushrooms, fish sauce and sugar into a pot. Set aside

Soak the noodles for 5 minutes in water that has been boiled and allowed to cool slightly, then drain and divide into 4 bowls

Meanwhile bring the stock-and-mushroom mixture to the boil, add the prawns and simmer for 2 minutes until the prawns are cooked

Place the cucumber over the noodles, pour the hot stock and mushroom sauce over and serve.

**since this a cooking recipe, not a baking recipe, I tend to just follow the recipe as a rough guideline. I taste as I go. In my version, I doubled the recipe, added waaaaaaay more mushrooms and prawns (cos we’re greedy like that), and made a chili padi-fish sauce dipping sauce to complement this dish**

my plate

 Go ahead, give this recipe a shot, I’ll bet it will be on regular rotation in your kitchen!

I also made Rojak Petis with fruits and sambal rojak petis. I went to the market this morning and grabbed what tickled my fancy… green apples, jicama (sengkuang), cempedak, rose apples (jambu air), pineapples and  green mangoes. All these were julienned and dumped into my salad bowl. The sambal… I felt a little lazy, so I bought the “made-in-dewek” version from the market. It was all ready to eat, but I tweaked it further. I added some tamarind juice, gula melaka and a couple spoonfuls of blitzed chili padi. Gave my concoction a good stir, then dumped it onto the mix in the salad bowl. A few tosses later, my Rojak Petis was good to go. Chilled in the fridge, it sure was toe-curling awesome!!

rojak petis

So as the day ends, my stomach is full, and my eyelids get heavier… I bid you good burps until we meet again 🙂

BBKK

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

