Skip to content

Portion Control

13/01/2012

I am horrible at keeping resolutions. I used to make them every December, and everything will be thrown out the window by the time the third week of January rolls by. I’m smarter now. I don’t make resolutions. I make decisions (am I making any sense?) And my decision this year is to eat smarter.

So here comes my phrase for 2012… Portion Control. Yes, I still get my ice-cream, cake, chocolates, whatevers… but in smaller portions. Damn, I’ll be a miserable, foul-mouthed witch if I can’t have my desserts.  So I scoured the internet…  and found a plethora of recipes that fitted my requirements.

I’ve jotted down a few, but so far, have only tested one : Chocolate Cake in a Mug. Apparently, this is one of the most often-searched “in-a-mug” recipes.

Chocolate cake for 1 (adapted from Simply Cooked)

4 tbsp plain flour (I reduced it to 3.5 tbsp)

4 tbsp caster sugar

2 tbsp cocoa powder

1 egg

3 tbsp milk

3 tbsp oil

Pinch of salt (salt actually helps to enchance the chocolate flavour)

¼ tsp vanilla essence (my addition)

Grease inside of mug lightly (make sure your mug can hold at least 375ml of liquids)

Mix dry ingredients in the mug (whisking it in a bowl is so much better)

Whisk together wet ingredients in a small bowl (whisk this in a separate bowl, duh)

Pour into the mug

Microwave on “High” for 3 minutes

Cool for about 5 minutes before eating

dry & wet

post-baked

pre-annihilation (yes, somebody couldn’t wait!!)

The cake will rise a lot while it’s baking in the microwave oven. Don’t panic, just let the timer run its’ course. As the timer reaches the 3 minute mark, the cake will sink back to a height lower than the mug’s rim. After it’s cooled down, remember, the mug WILL be quite hot to touch, you can either eat it straight from the mug, naked – the cake (you, optional), or topped with a scoop of ice-cream, a drizzle of syrup, whatever… or tip out the contents onto a plate and attack it with the enthusiam of a deranged cannibal cut it into portions (aha! that magic word again!) to be shared.

My verdict on the recipe: a little toughy-spongy. But if you are in a pinch, and nothing seems to cure the need, go for it.  Heck, it’s a cake for one. It’s yours. Whack away. If you are too highty-toity about it, then put on your slippers, go to your friendly neighbourhood bakery and shell out a few dollars for your slice of cake. But if the craving hits at 3am in the morning…..

Best thing… you can pre-pack the ingredients in separate ziplock bags (wet/dry) and bake your cake in the office pantry for your coffee break. Go on, impress your colleagues!!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

