Skip to content

DIY Bak-kwa (without the bak)

24/01/2012

A few days ago, in anticipation of the Dragon Year, I sussed out the internet on how to make bak-kwa – without the bak, of course! (Actually, I lost my old copy of the recipe… Klutz!) I came across a few versions, but they more or less had the same ingredients and methods. So, again, as always, I took the best bits from a few and came up with my own version. I love doing tweaks!!

500g minced meat

1 tbsp fish sauce

1 tbsp sesame oil

1 tbsp light soy sauce

1 tbsp dark soy sauce

1 tbsp sugar (I’ll try subbing it with honey next round)

1 tsp ikan bilis seasoning powder

2 tsp water

¾ tbsp chinese 5-spice powder

White pepper powder

½ tsp red food colouring (optional)

 

Vegetable oil

Wire mesh – cut to size

Parchment paper

 

Combine the meat and seasonings in a bowl.

Mix everything up until well combined.

Cover and place in the refrigerator for a few hours for the flavours to meld together.

After a few hours…

Pre-heat the oven to 100C.

Place a piece of parchment paper on a flat surface.

Spread mixture and even out the meat until you reach a thickness of 3-5mm.

Brush the wire mesh with vegetable oil.

Align wire mesh with the meat on the parchment paper.

Flip over, carefully peeling off the parchment paper, leaving the meat on the wire mesh.

 

Bake at 100C for 20 minutes to dry the meat.

Increase the temperature to 180C, change the oven setting to grill, and grill for 10-12 minutes.

Remove from oven, carefully transfer to cutting board, cut to desired size/shape

Return to wire rack, and grill for another 10-15 minutes.

Then you’re ready to inhale them

(my timings are estimates, check on them when you’re doing it)

The first batch I made, the family inhaled them in, like, minutes! If I didn’t rush to get a slice, I wouldn’t have gotten any. This is definitely a keeper. I’ll be doing it again when the cravings hit.

BBCC

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

