Skip to content

Best Of Both Worlds, In My World

14/02/2012

Last week, I had a bad case of PMS-induced cravings. Of the chocolate kind. So I scoured through my very messy collection of recipes, looking for a very fuss-free but very satisfying sweet something to satisfy my craving. i wanted something portable, but I didn’t want a cookie that needed refrigerating before baking. I WANT MY CRAVING SATISFIED NOW. I came across this, near the bottom of the last pile (I had three separate piles) of recipes that I have scattered in my room (neatness is not one of my good points I’m comfortable with organised mess.)

BROWNIE COOKIES

2 2/3 cup (450g) dark chocolate, 70% bitterness preferably, chopped

4 tbsp (65g) butter

4 eggs

1 1/3 cup (260g) caster sugar

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup (125g) plain flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 cup mini chocolate chips (half of a hersheys bag of mini chocolate chips)

 

Oven : pre-heated to 180C

Parchment-lined baking sheets

 

In a saucepan, over low heat, melt together the chopped dark chocolates and butter.

(recipe suggests using a double boiler, but I can’t be bothered. I just made sure I kept watch over the saucepan and continued stirring non-stop to prevent the chocolate from burning.)

Once everything has melted, remove it from fire and set aside to cool slightly.

In a small bowl, whisk together flour and baking powder. Set aside.

In a mixing bowl, whisk together eggs, caster sugar and vanilla till well combined

Slowly drizzle in the melted chocolate-butter mixture.

Stir until everything is well combined.

Fold in flour mixture until no flour streaks remain.

Fold in chocolate chips.

Scoop brownie batter onto prepared baking sheets, spacing them about 1 1/2″ apart.

Bake for 10-12 minutes, the tops will crack slightly.

Cool on baking sheets for about 3-5 minutes,

 before transferring brownie cookies to wire racks to cool completely.

This recipe makes about 56-58 cookies if batter was scooped with a 1-tbsp… erh… scooper.

But seriously, I like to gobble (impatient greedy chocoholic) them down while they’re still slightly hot, because the chocolate chips will still be a little melty and oh.so.divinely.awesome. Burnt fingers and tongue can be soothed later. Melty chooclates more important.

As per all other recipes, always envision the steps you have to go through, so you will have an enjoyable time making these brownies… cookies… brownie cookies… whatever… little pieces of heaven. And the fact that I had to make two batches in one week, showed that these babies do pack a punch! All you need is a BC a plate full of BCs and a tall glass of cold milk, and you’re good to go. Remember to lock the door behind you if you intend to keep all the BCs to yourself. Something which I miserably failed to do last week.

ps : Be watchful of popping eyeballs from unsuspecting tasters.  Or those who suddenly lose the ability to speak (temporarily) after a bite.

pps: I didn’t plan on uploading this recipe, but I lost count of the number of people who asked for the recipe. so there you have it, my darlings, go forth and bake!!

BBCC

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

