Skip to content

Cholesterol + Cholesterol… But it’s all gooooooooood…..

18/02/2012

With eyes on the prize, both The Hubby and I sit opposite each other. The steaming hot dish between us. Mwahahaha…..

It all started after we woke up famished after our afternoon nap. I opened the fridge to see what I could whip up in a short time. Nothing. Absolutely nothing. And then I saw it when I opened the freezer. I could almost hear the choir sing. A bag of frozen prawns, cleaned and ready to be cooked. So out it came from its freezing abode. And the salted eggs. And the evap milk… and the other stuffs.

BUTTERED PRAWNS WITH SALTED EGGS

60 G BUTTER

2 TBSP COOKING OIL

3 SHALLOTS, PEELED AND SLICED (I SUBSTITUTED WITH REGULAR ONION)

6-8 CHILLI PADI, SLICED (ADJUST ACCORDING TO YOUR PREFERENCE)

3 SPRIGS CURRY LEAVES

3 SALTED EGGS, YOLKS ONLY, MASHED (I USED 4)

150 ML EVAPORATED MILK

3 TBSP WATER

500 G FRESH MEDIUM PRAWNS, CLEANED, DE-VEINED

SALT & SUGAR TO TASTE

HEAT BUTTER & OIL IN WOK ON HIGH HEAT

SAUTE SHALLOTS TILL FRAGRANT

ADD CHILLI PADI AND CURRY LEAVES, CONTINUE SAUTEEING TILL FRAGRANT

ADD EGG YOLKS, STIRRING, AS IT MELTS IN THE HOT WOK

ADD MILK & WATER, LETTING IT BOIL FOR A BIT

SEASON WITH SALT & SUGAR ACCORDING TO TASTE

ADD PRAWNS & STIR IN, SIMMERING IT UNTIL SAUCE THICKENS (DO NOT LET MILK SEPARATE)

ONCE PRAWNS ARE COOKED , REMOVE FROM HEAT AND TRANSFER TO SERVING DISH

SERVE HOT

Sit back and see your loved ones enjoy this dish with steamy hot rice, lightly toasted baguette slices or pasta. There will be no squabbling on the dinner table. All you’ll hear are grunts of appreciation and the occasional pair of eyeballs rolling back in food ecstasy. Or maybe that’s just me. But be smart and set aside a portion for yourself before calling them to the dining table.

Actually, The Hubby and I were quietly challenging each other on how many prawns we could inhale in one sitting. He lost. Haha!

As this was my first attempt trying this recipe (and it was a success, on the whole), The Hubby and I agreed on one thing. To increase the amount of sauce the next time I cook this dish. And maybe use smaller prawns. So we don’t have to waste time peeling them. Yeah, we’re lazy eaters like that. And that’s why I used prawns instead of crabs in the first place. But I’ll still head to the other end of the island for that wonderful big platter of salted egg crabs. And the big pile of deep fried mantou buns… **eyes glazing over**

So there, cholesterol (salted egg yolks) + cholesterol (prawns) for a cool Saturday evening. I might sneak out for some ice-cream later. Maybe. Just to round off my dinner. Heh.

BBCC

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

