Skip to content

Junk Food Made Good

12/03/2012

The four of us caught some Seuss silliness last Saturday. The kids enjoyed it thoroughly, and The Boy made known to the whole theatre what he thought of it : “THAT WAS A SUPER AWESOME MOVIE, MUM!!” The bag I was carrying wasn’t big enough for me to hide in, unfortunately. But seriously, The Captain and I were left wondering… why call it The Lorax, when the story was about Once-Ler? But whatevs, the kids were entertained. And they were happy that they could stuff their faces with sweet popcorn and cheesy nachos and inhale a big tumbler of carbonated drink. I have to say, though, dealing with a super hyper six year old after the movie was the best bit of the whole evening. my patience and sanity as a mother was really tested.

I felt the need to win back some points for being a mean mum to The Boy the night before, so on Sunday, I decided to make his favourite, Baked Pasta. And plus I wanted to use up a bag of opened Lays Potato Chips. The saltiness of that stuff made me cringe. It never happened to me before. Something is really wrong with me. Must be the age. Or my current state of mind. Or just plain PMS. But anyways, yeah, I incorporated potato chips into baked pasta. Heh.

TUNA POTATO CHIP BAKED PASTA

(or whatever you want to call it)

Enough cooked pasta to feed your army – whichever type… up to you

Campbell’s cream of mushroom soup (or chicken, or broccoli, or potato)

Sliced button mushroom

Diced onion

Diced yellow, green, red bell peppers

Diced celery : go for organic if you can – why?

 http://www.organicauthority.com/blog/organic/non-organic-celery-packed-with-67-pesticides/

tinned tuna

*steamed broccoli florets

*steamed cauliflower florets

*roasted garlic

(*next time, I’ll add these in)

Shredded cheddar

A big bag of potato chips, crushed to bits

A splash of milk

Italian herbs

Pizza topper herbs

Salt and pepper to taste

 

Oven temp : 180C

Baking pan, lined with foil and very generously sprayed with olive oil

(easy clean-up, no scrubbing – I’m lazy like that)

(or just use those disposable foil tins)

 

**There isn’t any specific quantities in this particular recipe, cos I was just winging it. I opened my fridge’s crisper and used up whatever vegetables were left**

While boiling the pasta, dice the onions, bell peppers and celery.

I tool the easy way out and bought the pre-sliced mushrooms.

Open up your cream of “something” soup and set it aside

Open up the canned tuna (depends how many tins you want to use, I used two),

drain the liquid and flake the fish, set aside

Heat up a skillet and pour in some olive oil

Sauté the onions, bell peppers, celery and mushrooms until slightly tender

Season with herbs, salt and pepper

Set aside to cool slightly

At this stage, preheat the oven

In a big mixing bowl, dump in the cooked pasta and cream of something soup

Mix in thoroughly

Then dump in the canned tuna, again mixing thoroughly

Then the sautéed vegetables

Then throw in a few handfuls of shredded cheddar and season with herbs, salt and pepper

If the whole mix looks a little dry, drizzle in some milk, but not too much,

you don’t want it to be soggy, just enough to bind everything together

Set aside

 

Now’s the time to make your super yummy topping…

On a plate, pour out the crushed potato chips

(some pieces or a handful might accidentally land in your mouth, it’s ok)

Add about 3 handfuls of cheddar cheese

Mix it all up real good

Set it aside and stop picking on it… I mean it!!

 

Scoop the pasta mix into your prepared baking pan

Add the topping on top of it

Be generous, skimping is totally not accepted

Then sprinkle some pizza topper herbs

Chuck the whole gig into your oven for about 30 minutes,

until the cheese has melted – but not burnt – burnt cheese is awful

Cool for about 10-15 minutes before sticking your knife in it (Freddy-style) and sharing it with others

Warning though: your knees might shake in anticipation of the crispy crushed chips and melty gooey cheese. Or maybe that’s just me. I made a 9”x9” pan, and 1/3 of it was gone on 5 minutes. My two spawns kids inhaled them. With tomato ketchup. Wuss! I had them (the baked pasta, not my kids) with my all favourite cock sauce. Sriracha. Nice.

This recipe can also be made into single portions; baked in cupcake liners or ramekins (grease with olive oil thoroughly). Portion control. Yeah. Something which I failed miserably over the weekend.

BBCC

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

