Skip to content

My Happy Mistake

15/03/2012

I’ve been feeling rather antsy and restless these past few days. I don’t know, it’s like waiting for something to happen. But I don’t know what… when… where… And it’s really getting to me. Yesterday, I re-visited an old favourite, and overloaded on the chocolate bits. Pure heavenly bliss. But somehow it still left me wanting.
So today, I went the healthy route (no chocolates involved) and made some muffins.

QUINOA MUFFINS – makes 12

1 cup uncooked quinoa (pronounced keen-wah)

2 cups water (to cook the quinoa)

2 cups plain flour

3/4 cup packed brown sugar

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

3/4 cup milk

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

1/4 cup vegetable oil – I prefer canola

1 apple, peeled and chopped

A pinch of cinnamon

 

Oven : 175C

12 muffin cases

Rinse the quinoa and cook it in a saucepan with the water

Bring the mixture to a boil, then reduce the heat and let it simmer

Cover and cook for about 10 minutes, or until the liquid is absorbed and the quinoa is tender

Turn off the fire and set aside to cool

While the quinoa is cooking, prep your other stuff…

In a mixing bowl, combine flour, brown sugar, baking powder, salt and cinnamon

Whisk it well to break up the brown sugar clumps

Prep the apple : peel, quarter, chop – stir it into the flour mix

In another bowl, combine the milk, egg, vanilla and oil

Whisk it well to combine everything

When the quinoa has cooled sufficiently, dump it into the flour mix

Stir it until well combined

Drizzle in the wet stuff and stir it up real good until just mixed

Scoop batter evenly into prepared cases

Bake for 20-25 minutes (poke with a skewer to check for done-ness)

Remove from oven and cool for a bit before eating them.

Don’t be greedy like me. I ate them straight out of the oven. Burnt my tongue real good. The thing is… after I placed the muffins in the oven and started washing up the utensils…..

I.REALIZED.I.FORGOT.TO.ADD.OIL!!!!!!!!!!!!!

But it has happened before. Waaaaaay in the beginning, I baked a batch of muffins, sans eggs. That batch went from oven straight to trash. No point salvaging. But that’s another story for another time. And that is where I am actually The Bumbling Baker, heh.

Anyway… this time, after hyper-ventilating and some hand-wringing, I stood transfixed infront of the oven, waiting for something to happen. Eh… my babies didn’t rise much. After the timer went off, I took the muffins out of the oven and promptly chomped into one. Not bad actually. I kinda liked it. It didn’t feel heavy at all. Burnt tongue aside, I loved how the chopped apples softened slightly, and with the cinnamon, was just perfect. It balances well with the nutty taste of the quinoa, and the brown sugar wasn’t overpowering, it just slightly sweetened the muffin.

I still haven’t tried this recipe with oil in it, but I think I’ll stick to my accidental version that doesn’t contain any oil. Maybe the juicy apples helped in keeping it moist. Or maybe next time replace the oil with apple sauce. And add a pinch of nutmeg. I think nutmeg will bring it to another level… oh… heaven…

My latest craving satiated, I am already thinking of variations. Maybe next time soak a handful of raisins or dried cranberries in orange juice before adding them in? Or adding in some chopped dates? Or mashed bananas and chopped walnuts? Or blueberries? Raspberries? Strawberries? Or switch up the plain flour to whole wheat flour? And add about two tablespoonfuls of flaxmeal? The possibilities… endless!!

I’m happy to say, this is one chocolate-less treat that I absolutely love. And the fact that The Army doesn’t really care for cinnamon, I get the whole batch to myself! What more can I ask for?

BBCC

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

