Skip to content

Simple but Scrumptious

18/03/2012

I misplaced an old recipe for baked chicken wings. And that made me very miserable. Because I was hankering for some caramelized, finger-lickin’ goodness. I tossed and turned, thinking of those succulent chicken wings. I grabbed my handphone in frustration and went on http://pinterest.com/. And almost immediately, I stumbled onto a recipe. It wasn’t exactly the same recipe, but it was close enough. I bookmarked it, plugged my handphone back to its’ charger and fell asleep. Yes, I don’t read bedtime stories to fall asleep, I surf for recipes. And I either fall asleep happy with my bookmarks or fall asleep hungry.

CARAMELIZED BAKED CHICKEN WINGS

2kgs chicken wings

2 tbsp canola oil

1/2 cup light soy sauce

2 tbsp ketchup

1 cup honey

1 clove garlic, minced

2 tbsp cornflour

Salt & pepper, to taste

Oven : 200C

In a saucepan over medium heat, combine oil, light soy sauce, ketchup, honey, garlic and cornflour

**the original recipe indicates to sprinkle the salt and pepper just before chucking the chicken pieces in the oven, but since I had kids in the house, I added them all in the beginning, in the saucepan, so that the pepper taste mellowed out**

Whisking constantly, bring the mixture to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer for about 15 minutes, taste the marinade as you go, and adjust accordingly to your own tastes

Set aside to cool slightly while you clean the chicken wings. Separate the drumlets from the wings. Score the fleshy meat of the drumlets to allow the marinade to infuse better

In a big bowl, toss the chicken pieces and the marinade together

Transfer them into a ziplock bag and chuck ‘em in the fridge for a bit. 30 minutes seem ok for me. (I was impatient). But you know, the longer, the better.

**I separated the wings seperately from the drumlets, because drumlets have a little more meat, and they take a slightly longer time for the marinade to seep through. And that I am a little anal about little details wasn’t  the main reason. Haha!**

Preheat your oven while preparing the baking sheets.

Line your baking sheets with aluminium foil (easy cleanup, no scrubbing later) and lightly spray with olive oil

Lay your chicken pieces in a single layer, spooning over some of the marinade

Bake them in the oven for 40 minutes, turning them once midway into the cooking time (at 20 minutes, duh!) and basting them with a little more of the marinade

Once they’re done, transfer them onto a serving platter and spoon over any remaining caramelized sauce left behind on the baking sheet.

For once, attack while still hot. Yes, you’ll get burnt tongues and fingers, but they’re SO worth it. No accompanying sauces needed. If you have leftovers, and that’s a big if, pick the meat off the bones and use it as pizza toppers. Slather some pasta sauce on slightly flattened pieces of bread, sprinkle the chicken meat and top with shredded cheddar. Broil them in the toaster oven for a few minutes, and ta-dah!!, you have some home-made pizza.

BBCC

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

